Curriculum Workshop - January 2018

Click on the subject to download the presentations:

Maths       English     Online Safety     Growth mindsets


The Curriculum

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage is from birth until the end of the Reception class enabling continuity of the learning journey for each child. The curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning divided into Prime and Specific areas.

Prime areas

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development

Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive arts and design         

Key Stage 1 Curriculum

The Key Stage runs in Years 1 & 2, and we organise the eleven national curriculum subjects into the seven areas of learning (as above), which provides progression of learning from the Foundation Stage. English, Mathematics, Science and Computing are core subjects. Through a creative topic-based approach, skills and knowledge learned in dedicated subject time are used and applied thus deepening understanding. First hand experiences in independent learning activities reinforce and extend learning at each child’s level.

The school use the Jolly Phonics scheme for the youngest pupils, progressing to the letters and sounds programme.  All Year 1 pupils undertake the National Phonics Screening Check in June. 

At the end of Year 2 all children are assessed by the class teacher for the end of Key stage 1 assessment, which is reported to parents.

Children are taught in whole class groups, in small mixed ability groups or similar ability groups, as well as on an individual basis. A range of teaching strategies are employed to support the learning styles of all children. Interactive whiteboards and a delightful learning environment provide superb learning and teaching opportunities for the children. Our spacious and purpose built outdoor environments effectively support independent learning opportunities.

Religious Education

Assemblies are an important part of school life. These acts of worship follow the church year; the Rector takes weekly assemblies.  A celebration assembly is held each week when children receive certificates and awards for personal achievement. Classes have a dedicated RE lesson each week following the Guildford Diocesan guidelines.